How Washington's Intermediate License law works
The full requirements of Washington's Intermediate License include: (The law takes affect 7-1-2001.)
Step 1: Before applying for an intermediate License a teen must:
Hold an instruction permit for at least 6 months
Get at least 50 hours of supervised driving practice - including 10 hours at night
Pass a traffic safety education course
Not have any traffic violations within 6 months of applying for the license, and
Not have any alcohol or drug offense while holding an instruction permit.
Step 2: Once the Intermediate License is issued:
For the first 6 months, drive with no passengers under the age of 20 unless they are members of the immediate family
For the remaining period, drive with no more than 3 passengers under the age of 20
Do not drive between 1:00 a.m. and 5:00 a.m. unless with a licensed driver age 25 or older. Driving for agricultural purposes is an exception to the late night hours driving restriction.
Step 3: After one year of driving without collisions or traffic citations:
Allowed to drive without limitation as to the time of day or the age and number of passengers
At age 18 the Intermediate Driver License automatically becomes a regular license
And, beginning with step 2 and until age 18:
If a driver commits a driving violation, or violation of license restrictions, the driver is sent a warning letter by the Department of Licensing
If two driving violations are committed a letter suspending the driver for 6 months (or until age 18, whichever is shorter) is sent to the driver
For a third driving violation the driver is suspended until age 18
Note: The driver's parents will receive a copy of any warning letter or letter of suspension sent to the driver.
A word of thanks to Senator Tracey Eide for providing much of the information seen here, and for her efforts in promoting traffic safety through sponsorship of the Intermediate License law.
Home More Information Questions and Answers